RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

holes in cmyk separations

Old 01-10-2008, 01:15 AM

holes in cmyk separations

hi all
hope you can help me with this.
I work in the publishing industry, photo-retouching images for print.
I use an rgb workflow for all my image work, and then convert to cmyk to place an image in InDesign. The more I learn about working with photographs, the more I seem to be having this issue:
Printers and cmyk-workflow retouchers recommend that there be no holes (areas of missing information) in the cmyk separations in the final placed cmyk image file, in order to minimise banding (especially not when using gravure printing (which clips the possible image information as it is able only to reproduce tones of 7% or more)).
In other words there must be an even tone in all channels, including cyan (especially on skin-tones). But the techniques I am using more and more (pwl, dodge and burn) leave me with a glowy, glossy image in rgb, and an image full of holes (on the highlight areas) in cmyk.
When I fill in these holes (using a combination of apply image and information copying from other channels), the glowy, glossy skin effect is minimised.
How do I get around this?
What am I doing wrong?
please help.
Karin
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2008, 05:13 AM

Re: holes in cmyk separations

Hmm. Gravure printing should be able to hold at least 2% more than that.

Does the info exist in the original or does it disappear with your corrections?

Chris
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2008, 05:25 AM

info exists in some of the files, but many of the digital photographs I receive are very warm on the skin tones, and I think it's the high red values that encourage loss of info in the eventual cyan separations.
k
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2008, 05:49 AM