RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Critique Please =-)

Old 02-12-2008, 08:15 PM

Critique Please =-)

I would like to get some input on this retouch as I am fairly new to it and am trying to improve my abilities. What does it need still? What did do wrong? etc etc.. Thank you all for your help in advance. (you have already helped me so much with all the tutorials & examples this wonderful site has to offer!)

The attachments hopefully show the detail well enough. If not here is a link to my Flickr page you can see the comparisons more clearly.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/flairde...82986295/show/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ShellyOrig.jpg (71.4 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg Shelly2_RTP.jpg (84.6 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2008, 08:34 PM

Re: Critique Please =-)

Without getting into the "how young is too young" debate, I'd say the eyes are too white, and the retouched areas of skin look quite flat. You need to play with the shadows of the jawline to get them a bit more realistic. I love the new eyelashes, though.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-12-2008, 09:05 PM

Here's what I see:

1. The skin loses too much detail in your retouch. I would strongly recommend using a technique that doesn't involve blurring the skin (D&B, or even de-grunge, search these forums for more info), or at least lowering the opacity of your retouched layer a bit to bring back some of the detail and tonal range. The new version looks too flat.

2. The eyes, especially when compared to the surrounding skin, look a little overdone. Bring them back a little.

3. The eyelashes suffer from the same problem. When the skin is so flat, the eyelashes stand out as being retouched.

4. After you've tackled the skin, try going for the hair next. Clean up some of the stray hairs flying around, especially at the top.