RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Specific Schools for Fashion Retouching

Old 04-13-2008, 04:14 PM

Specific Schools for Fashion Retouching

Hi there,

I've used the search feature, the FAQ, and browsed the site and I can't quite find the exact answer to my question(s), so forgive me if I'm starting a repeat topic.

I am a professional photographer who does mainly portraits, but more on the private side (families, kids, etc.) Occasionally I have done some commercial work for clothing companies and the like.

The more I get into photoshop (because you're always learning new things), the more I realize that I really have a passion for retouching portraits. I've decided I would really like to look into getting into that specialized field, but I'm not quite sure where to start education wise.

Obviously there are great books, online tutorials and forums out there. What I'm wanting to know is where would one look into applying to go to school specifically for fashion retouching? Is there such a thing? Most programs I've come across seem to be either full out photography programs with some photoshop added, or more in the field of a general art degree. Because of my solid background in photoshop and photography, am I off base to believe a four year degree may not be necessary and I could move more quickly into specialized training for simply retouching?

Any tips or information on where to start looking for such a program would be much appreciated. I've checked out the websites of a few schools (FIT, RIT, and ACCD among others) and haven't come across such a program yet.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-13-2008, 04:17 PM

Re: Specific Schools for Fashion Retouching

I'll also add that I am in Canada, but willing to relocate for school.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-13-2008, 04:28 PM