RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Question about smart objects and filters

Old 04-16-2008, 07:46 PM

Question about smart objects and filters

Hi:

I've been using Photoshop CS3 for a few months and am having a problem with it: when I use filters in smart objects, the settings I use in my filters don't show in the picture unless I have the filter open. When I close it it's as if I hadn't applied any filters.

For example, one of the filters I use most often is the Smart Sharpen. If I make a composite layer, convert it to a smart object, then open the Smart Sharpen filter, I can see the picture sharpened while I'm adjusting the Amount and Radius. When I get the photo to where it looks good to me, I click OK, but as soon as the filter closes, the changes do not seem to have been applied. If I open the filter again, I can see the changes, but when I close it, they're gone...

If it's of any help, I'm running CS3 on a dual quad core Mac Pro with 10 Gigabytes of RAM, so I know it's not a processor speed or RAM issue.
Anyone else notice this or have any advice?

Thanks very much.

mashny
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-16-2008, 08:37 PM
Patron

Re: Question about smart objects and filters

Quote:
I'm running CS3 on a dual quad core Mac Pro with 10 Gigabytes of RAM...
GAH! ... and I'm sick with envy

Seriously tho... did you check the visibility on your smart filter stack?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg smart.jpg (41.9 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-16-2008, 10:08 PM

I did. The opacity is 100%, my mask is white, and all my eyeball icons are visible. And, again, as soon as I doubleclick into the filter, I can see my changes in the image. When I click OK, my changes vanish. This has never happened to you?
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-16-2008, 10:15 PM