RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How did you learn?

Old 04-23-2008, 02:01 PM

How did you learn?

Hello! I am new here, and a completely self taught wanna be retoucher. I started my journey in to photo editing when I began taking an interest in photography a few years ago.

I am now at the stage where I eventually want to move further, and take this from a hobby to a professional career. How did you guys get there? Did you take an online course (this would be preferable as a busy mom of 3). Did you go to school? Are you self taught?

Thanks in advance for all your help!
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-23-2008, 03:53 PM

Re: How did you learn?

I learnt so much right here. There are a handful of TOP retouchers here. Some are really helpful if you show that you are willing to make an effort.

Once I built up a portfolio of before and after images, I then landed a job as a full time retoucher. I have been in the design industry for eight years and retouching for three years. You will learn a lot if you get into a retouching house of some sort. It may mean starting at the bottom and cutting masks and so on. Slowly you will be given harder and more involved tasks to do.

Online courses that are good - www.lynda.com for the ins and outs of photoshop (but you will battle to find high end techniques anywhere)

Dodge and Burn skin - do a search on the forums for this
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-23-2008, 07:04 PM