RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Dave Hill processing, close or no cigar?

Old 05-11-2008, 07:25 AM

Dave Hill processing, close or no cigar?

This is my first post to this site and I'm still quite new to photography and Photoshop work.

Some people on another forum told me that this pic reminded them a little of Dave Hill's work. I didn't know who he was until I googled him.

http://www.foodologist.com/pics/RAGE.jpg

Firstly, I just want some constructive criticism on the pic (I have currently sifting my way through threads on this forum and have discovered that there are a few others that want to find out his techniques too!). I understand that the composition is completely different but I was wanting more comment on the actual processing.

Thanks in advance,

G
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-14-2008, 10:16 AM

Re: Dave Hill processing, close or no cigar?

no cigar, that's more or a zombie burn victim look.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-18-2008, 10:00 PM

wtf?
looks like a zombie, can't you see how messed up the skin is? Dave Hill has well toned skin
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-18-2008, 11:30 PM

Doc,
While I don't think you'll be sending Dave Hill to the unemployment office anytime soon I do think your on to something with the photograph itself. I like it. But the post processing has got to go. Lose the smudging & blurring and try some burn & dodge to exaggerate the bone structure. I think it's got the makings of being a really good image.
JD
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2008, 01:06 AM

Thanks for the replies,

I did do a fair bit of dodge and burn on this image to try and 'sculpt' the face a bit but obviously not a great job. I have included here the original so you can see how much was done.

www.foodologist.com/pics/RAGEORIG.jpg