RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Re-touch FLOW CHART

Old 08-11-2008, 04:31 PM

Smile Re-touch FLOW CHART

Hello

I am quite new to the whole retouching world. I am meeting a photographer tomorrow to discuss me helping him out professionally as a re-toucher.

I have searched around for a work-flow diagram to show him what I would do to his photos when he gives them me. I thought this would be a great way to ensure he will be getting the best out of me.

I know this is a very general question but I think it will be mostly weddings or food photography; photographs with promenant whites.

I will tell you what I think I would do and please could you correct me if you would do it any different. I presume I would use Lightroom for productivity but for the sake of keeping it familiar to everyone; my skills are mostly in Photoshop.

1. Crop image if required to a favoured composition/straighten image.
2. I would spot the photograph, clone and dust marks out.
3. *Check exposure, make sure the histogram is full from left to right. Check for any unwanted colour cast, firstly adjust by eye using color balance tool and curves tool and the using Hue/Saturation to detect colours in the whites.
4. Deepen shadows and lighten highlights using curves or levels. *Check highlights are no brighter than 5%, check blacks are no darker than 95%.
5. Use dodge/burn tools to bring back detail or balance shadows/highlights.
6. Clone stamp or burn out and distracting elements.
7. Sharpen image
8. Export as TIFF?

I am not sure what I would export the file as. TIFF files are huge, but JPEG is way too destructive.

I would be very grateful of any opinions! Thanks so much,

Dan
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-11-2008, 04:48 PM

Re: Re-touch FLOW CHART