Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Plastic skin effect!!! Need Help

Old 09-07-2008, 08:21 PM
Red face Plastic skin effect!!! Need Help

I posted this on here, and someone suggested imagenomics, which is a cool plugin, however I am not quite sure how it will produce the effect that I am inquiring about, can an experienced retouch help give me a few pointers on the given effect in the link i provided please!!!!

I am a photographer and do fairly well with retouching however I am trying to start a new challenge with my retouching and create that plastic flawless look for models in photoshop. Is there other software that is required to produce such effects, the look that I am going for is in the this link: ( If you have any information in how I could possibly get started in creating such an effect, please respond A.S.A.P I have another shoot coming up, in September and I would love to start working on it soon. Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-07-2008, 10:28 PM
Re: Plastic skin effect!!! Need Help

Refer to already existing highlights/shadows and exaggerate and/or simplify them. Make a new layer, fill with 50% grey and set that layer to "Softlight" and paint black or white ( 0% hardness on the brush, 100% opacity, 1-5% flow) to carve down or up. Dodging and burning into a grey layer will pretty much duplicate the effect of painting white and black, but sometimes it works better to use actual tones sampled from the image: a highlight that hasn't blown out, and a shadow that nice and dark, but still showing tone. This is useful if white and black are creating discoloration. Switch from dodging to burning and back again simply by pressing the "X" key. This method sometimes adds saturation to the carved shadows.

If you have a shoot coming up It would be nice if you posted a sample of your problem.