RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

What improvements could be made?

Old 10-04-2008, 08:58 AM

What improvements could be made?

Hey, I'm new to photoshop (about 6 months experience) and recently have become interested in retouching photos especially portraits. I have attempted to retouch the below picture and my result is on the left. I was aiming for a clean, fresh feel to the picture. Can anybody say what else could be done and any thing else which i could improve upon?

Would be cool to see what other people would do to either picture aswell, so feel free to post it!

Thanks and hello to everyone!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled3.jpg (36.3 KB, 145 views)
File Type: jpg Pre-Retouch.jpg (30.6 KB, 128 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2008, 09:46 AM

Re: What improvements could be made?

Fro me lips and eyes don't look natural :/ They are too bright
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2008, 11:45 AM

I think you've gone a little overboard in the drama. The shadows are plugged and the highlights are blown out.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2008, 12:58 PM

just a levels adjustment and slight color -- worked a little digital makeup but not much---and a crop

I don't know if cropping was a good choice since it followed the rule of thirds but it just seemed like there was a lot of empty space??

anyway here is where I ended up
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pre-Retouch.jpg (176.1 KB, 60 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-04-2008, 05:19 PM

i can see where you are going with your version, but it seems the monotone blue background may be striking but it darkens a golden beauty. I tried to warm the skin tones and vary the background. Not as dramatic as your version, but quick and fun to do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pre-Retouch-1_1.jpg (30.5 KB, 39 views)
Reply With Quote top