Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

New here, got some skills but looking to hone them

Old 10-17-2008, 09:37 AM
New here, got some skills but looking to hone them

Here's an example of my retouching skills, so far self taught but i just started a digital photo class at a community college that I go to for photography here in Michigan.
It not my most recent but it's one that i had side by side in the same image link.

And everything else on that photobucket site is old candids so don't take that as my recent work. My newer photos can be viewed at:

Add me there and we can exchange critiques!
Any and all constructive criticism is VERY welcomed!

There's my intro!
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-11-2008, 05:15 PM
Re: New here, got some skills but looking to hone

For the picture with the asian girl, the eyeshadow looks too strange. It transitions to bluntly from bright to dark, so I suggest smoothing it out to produce the look of a more skilled application. One of the eyebags is still blatant as ever, and it looks weird because the other eye is completely bagless. The full eyebrow is at too sharp an angle, and is also strangely fuzzy looking. Clean it up. The eye that is more in the shadows look like it doesn't have any eyeshadow at all. I would personally brighten the irises, but that isn't necessary. Though I can't fully tell at that size, the skin looks pretty good and healthily smooth, and you made her look very well rested (which is a positive).
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-12-2008, 12:00 AM

honestly, i think whatever you did to the picture on the left looks worse than the original on the right, I dunno what they taught you at that school.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-12-2008, 05:15 AM