RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How do I get rid of stray hairs and frizzies?

Old 11-26-2008, 03:17 PM

How do I get rid of stray hairs and frizzies?

Hi everyone,

I just joined RetouchPro and it looks like there's a lot of great information and resources here. I'm a photographer and I mostly do portraiture.

I want to learn how to clean up stray hairs and frizzies. I've had limited success using the healing brush, patch tool and clone stamp tool but I really haven't found anything like and I realize I don't completely understand which tool is the right tool for the job.

I have a feeling that the technique will change based on surrounding elements and evenness of color.

If someone could give me some help I'd really appreciate it. I've attached a sample image that I would like to clean up.

I should also point out that I'm using Photoshop CS, not CS2, 3 or 4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg carolyn-37a.jpg (81.8 KB, 159 views)
File Type: jpg carolyn-37b.jpg (29.7 KB, 107 views)

Last edited by TMR Design; 11-26-2008 at 03:30 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-26-2008, 03:41 PM

Re: How do I get rid of stray hairs and frizzies?

i like to use stamp for 99%. Use stamp at 100 hardness 9if the hair is a bit blurry, you could soften your brush, whatever works), and use it in darken and lighten modes to help transitions. letting your tablet control brush size helps as well.

no matter what you use, take your time, it is painstaking, but bad hair is the worst, and also the easiest way to spot retouching.

if it's a large area of hair, then you're better off taking a chink of good hair, and warping it on top...then try and modify it a bit so it doesn't look copy & pasted.

one thing for sure is hair sucks, and there is no trick.

Last edited by KR1156; 11-26-2008 at 03:55 PM.
Reply With Quote top