Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Ethereal glow while retaining skin texture

Old 02-28-2009, 04:32 AM
Ethereal glow while retaining skin texture

I'm new to the forum (hi!). I've been doing travel/landscape photography for 10 years or so, and have relatively recently started doing portraits - and have further ambitions in that direction. Over the years I've found advice on this site very useful, and thought it is time to start contributing. So here we go!

I've been trying to find a way to get a dreamy, romantic glow on a portrait, while retaining skin texture for a while now. I know it's a bit of a non-sequitur, but hey, one can try. And I'm getting there!

For the glow effect, I'm using a neat PS action called Dave Beaman's Ethereal Glow which I downloaded somewhere a while back - quick googling shows it's still widely available. For getting back texture I'm using a technique by Des I found on Luminous Landscape forums recently.

Here's the process in PS:

- Save original background layer
- Spotting
- I use Kodak GEM Airbrush to smooth skin - in this step I'm mostly concerned fixing blotches and blemishes and not too worried about texture, so you can use whatever method you prefer to get rid of such imperfections
- Bring back texture - this is Des's technique, and numbers vary widely between images (I switched the order of D and C):
A: Dupe the B/Ground Layer
B: Filter> Other > HiPass set say 15px( 5-20)
D: Invert
C: Gaussian Blur> say 3-8 Px [I use Smart Filter as this is a critical step which can cause wacky results]
F: Change blend Mode to Linear Light and add BLACK layer Mask
G: Brush the the skin where you want smoothness but texture in WHITE
[H: Adjust opacity as needed]
- Dave's Ethereal Glow - make two copies