RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Making photos look old (authentically)

Old 04-30-2009, 02:49 AM

Making photos look old (authentically)

Hi
I am a photographer and retoucher and I have a request from one of my important editorial clients to age a series of photographs. I've been researching and looking around, but all I seem to run into are really cheezball soft focus, fake grain and nasty sepia tones on digital images. Nothing looks authentically 'old'. The "70's look" and variants of that is not exactly what I'm looking for either.

Looking at real aged photo's:
patchy blur
frayed edges
uneven exposures
light leaking into frames
flare
colours fade but blue and magenta remain

Anybody here that can point out a link?
Got any tips or examples of something similar?

Thanks peeps. Much appreciated. Will happily post the pics here once published.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2009, 03:43 AM

Re: Making photos look old (authentically)

One way is to use and aged photo on a layer under your photo and bring in some of the cracks, frayed edges and such from underneath. I'll look around tomarrow, I know I've got tutorials on it somewhere.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2009, 05:42 AM

Yes I thought about that.. maybe even the frames of an old 4x5 neg. Sounds fascinating, crazyfly1. I can't wait to see.

Last edited by Soul_of_Kilik; 04-30-2009 at 06:58 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2009, 06:07 AM

Like this.I used layers of craks, frayed edges ...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg new.jpg (96.9 KB, 146 views)
File Type: jpg old.jpg (95.5 KB, 203 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2009, 08:20 PM

http://www.creativepro.com/article/p...image-look-old

I know I have a video too, I'll keep looking.

http://graphicreporter.com/tutorials...ingphotos.html

Another good one from Kelby.