RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Adjusting skin color without affecting background

Old 05-19-2009, 10:45 PM

Adjusting skin color without affecting background

Hi, as a portrait photographer i always have a lot of pictures to retouch so i am always looking for the fastest recipe to do certain things. I have a problem, normally i start with adding contrast to the picture then i adjust the color to make the skin better. As you see in my "after.jpg" feature, the color adjusting also affects the background. What would be the fastest solution to this problem without affecting picture quality?

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before.JPG (97.2 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg after.JPG (94.0 KB, 92 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2009, 11:02 PM

Re: Adjusting skin color without affecting backgro

Check out the "Selective Color" adjustment, it will allow you to change only one color range at a time.

If you don't mind my asking, is there any particular reason you wanted her to have green skin?

Cheers,
Michael
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-19-2009, 11:47 PM

haha this brings me to my other question: How to adjust my laptop screen color to the printer? (it's perfectly fine on my laptop but she also complained about "hulk" look
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2009, 12:42 AM

hi,
here my "quick and dirty" try. i would use LAB in this case. with curves in LAB mode you can easyly select the color you want to change and leave the rest as it is. i would not trust your laptopmonitor when you do your colorcorrections. the savest way to do it would be correcting by numbers. a good starting point for skin could be 5C 30M and 35Y. hope that helps.

shotcutz
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before_c.jpg (97.1 KB, 57 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-20-2009, 01:34 AM