RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Air Brushing? How?

Old 05-22-2009, 05:58 AM

Air Brushing? How?

http://rs--design.deviantart.com/art...-GT-R-83394286

http://rs--design.deviantart.com/art...under-82080502

http://revolution-1.deviantart.com/a...-STi-104737030

Hello everyone, new member here. I have been working with Photoshop for about 6 years. So I kinda expect myself to know everything it has to offer by now.

Yet when I see art like that, it boggles my mind. How are they doing this?

When I ask them how they have done it, I keep getting the same old answer: Air brush. Whatever this "air brush" is, it definitely isn't the good ol' brush I've been using for 6 years. And if it is, the procedure is definitely more complex than that.

I want to know in detail how exactly this is done. The placement of the layers (on the bodykit itself) and which features are used (i.e. eraser vs mask, or bucket gradient vs blending option gradient). Because I have tried doing this before and it looked pretty awful. [sample][original]

By the way I didn't post the direct link to the images to preserve their context, so you can see who the author is and whatnot.

I would appreciate any help.

Last edited by GTR; 05-22-2009 at 06:17 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2009, 06:18 AM

Re: Air Brushing? How?

It looks like three separate layers and masking to me...the sky, the middle scene and then the car. The sky looks HDR and the car looks like it was shot with lights then a lot of photoshop.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2009, 06:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by skydog View Post
It looks like three separate layers and masking to me...the sky, the middle scene and then the car. The sky looks HDR and the car looks like it was shot with lights then a lot of photoshop.