RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Losing Business

Old 07-08-2009, 08:43 AM

Losing Business

Hey guys (and gals),

I’m a first time poster here and I’m finding my way around a bit. I have a huge favor to ask of you, though.

I’m a portrait photographer that recently opened my doors in central KY. I thin my retouching skills are okay for the portrait world, at least my mentor says as much. I’m working on the D&B thing now. There is one thing that bothers me though. I get a lot of people asking if I do photos like one particular guy around here. So, like any student and professional I took a look at his stuff. It’s nothing spectacular (like mine) but it has a really cool look to it. I’m sad to say that I’ve actually lost work to him. While this is all well and good and keeps the economy rolling...well...I want that business. lol

I was wondering if someone could help me out by giving me a workflow for this, link to a tutorial, or link to a video. I’d like to learn how he does it so I can somehow meld it with my own way of doing things and then come up with something even more attractive. So, any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

If this is just a version of “The Look” as it is called here, or the Dave Hill style then say so and I’ll go my own way with my tail between my legs. lol I've posted some examples on here. I don't know how well they will look as they have to be less than 100kb...but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for taking pity on a noob. :o)

~gmanfive0
~~~~

Edit:

Photos were deleted due to issues that might arise from posting them. They were not my photos and I retained no copyright to them.

Last edited by gmanfive0; 07-08-2009 at 07:38 PM. Reason: Trying to delete.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-08-2009, 09:27 AM

Re: Losing Business