RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Advertising for your Pro Retouching Service?

Old 07-25-2009, 06:16 PM

Advertising for your Pro Retouching Service?

Hi All,

I am a professional retoucher based in LA. Up until 2 years ago I worked as a senior retoucher for a large Motion Picture / Record Company publicity photo lab. The Lab was sold to a land developer along with several other businesses around us for a new Mall! Sadly, the owner did not relocate the business, he just took the money, and said, goodbye guys.

Fortunately, though my reputation at the lab, I was able to keep two major clients. I still do work for them to this day at my home studio which is nice.
No advertising or even a website was required to secure these clients. So that was easy.

I have a new retouching showcase site that I am still working on, and will be done soon, so I was wondering, after I have it done, how do I advertise my services to potential clients.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. I am a professional retoucher and I do not undercut prices, which damages our industry and livelihood, like so many of these stupid $10.00 retouching sites do.

I will save that rant for another thread...that drives me crazy!

I hope that this is an appropriate question for this forum.

Thanks for your time,

Jeff
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2009, 06:50 PM

Re: Advertising for your Pro Retouching Service?

craigslist? there's a section for work/job here too. you could probably make a tutorial (since ur pro and all) to get some hits on your website.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2009, 08:06 PM

Wow! Thanks so much for the info. Craigslist.....cool!!! I did not even think about that "option"! Maybe I will make a tutorial on how not to be an A-hole.....I will send you a link!
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2009, 08:36 PM