RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Retouching jewelry

Old 08-16-2009, 10:32 AM

Retouching jewelry

Hi there,

I'm kinda new at this, but I need to get some rings nice and shiny without making them look like a plastic toy. The diamonds are not to hard, just using a new layer in color mode, paintbrushing with white or black and lowering the opacity then adding a little light blue for to add some simple color.

But the ring itself is a different story.. I can't just use a gblur or mblur to work away the imperfections and it does al kinds look fake if I edit too much. Is there anyone who has some keen advice on this? I've still got about 40 more to go.... Thanks a bunch!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ring 02 ORG.jpg (45.5 KB, 147 views)
File Type: jpg Ring 02 ED.jpg (84.6 KB, 165 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-16-2009, 11:18 AM

Re: Retouching jewelry

Most of the imperfections can be eliminated with the healing brush or the clone stamp, you just have to keep an eye on the quality, the image is pretty noisy, so the patch shouldn't be absolutely clean.
You could also try to increase the contrast to make it look more brilliant.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-18-2009, 01:52 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwUli View Post
Hi there,

I'm kinda new at this, but I need to get some rings nice and shiny without making them look like a plastic toy. The diamonds are not to hard, just using a new layer in color mode, paintbrushing with white or black and lowering the opacity then adding a little light blue for to add some simple color.

But the ring itself is a different story.. I can't just use a gblur or mblur to work away the imperfections and it does al kinds look fake if I edit too much. Is there anyone who has some keen advice on this? I've still got about 40 more to go.... Thanks a bunch!