RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How do I make my hair look shiny like a shampoo ad

Old 10-23-2009, 08:01 PM

Question How do I make my hair look shiny like a shampoo ad

Here is a sample of my hair from a photo.
My hair is black in fact black,and I want to make it look shiny and nice like an advert for shampoo.
How can I do this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hairsampleforforum.jpg (33.7 KB, 122 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-23-2009, 08:10 PM

Re: How do I make my hair look shiny like a shampo

I am far from an expert, but I would think lighting would play a big part in getting a shine from your hair.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-23-2009, 10:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by HroadhogD1 View Post
I am far from an expert, but I would think lighting would play a big part in getting a shine from your hair.
Yeah the shine comes a lot from lighting, either back lighting or direct reflection from the light off the hair.... sorry not going to be a quick fix....
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-23-2009, 11:52 PM

with a grayscale image like that you run the risk of having shine look like gray hair. You'll probably need to make selections so that only some segments are highlighted to appear like shine. While letting other areas remian quite dark. Work with layers in screen mode to lighten the hair, then add contrast with softlight, overlay, curves, etc.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2009, 04:33 AM

http://www.photoshopbuddy.net/shinehair.html
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-24-2009, 05:26 PM

Thanks catasha, this is the tutorial that I first tried, unfortunately on black hair it makes it go grey.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2009, 12:08 PM