RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Help with identifying retouching tools

Old 10-26-2009, 01:04 AM

Help with identifying retouching tools

Hello! I'm a new member, but I've been Photoshop since Photoshop 6 was new.

I'm not an expert at retouching photos... most of my experience is in web design but I've practiced a lot and can usually fix most any problem in a picture.

However, I recently saw the famous Dove "Evolution" video, (I can't imagine that many people here have missed it, but if you haven't seen it yet, you can watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYhCn0jf46U )and there are some tools that I'm seeing used, that I cannot find in Photoshop (CS3) for the life of me.

I'm specifically interested in the tools where the move her head up to elongate the neck, as well as the tool that is used to reshape the shoulder/neckline. I've watched the video over and over, but it's too quick and grainy for me to see.

I thought it was some variation of the marquee tool, but every time I try to use it, it obviously makes a "cut out" with white space when I warp it.

Is it a certain technique with multiple layers or a tool?

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-26-2009, 04:40 AM

Re: Help with identifying retouching tools

Ive seen it, and I dont know what they personally have done, but here is what I would do-

With the ruler, drag down a guide from the lower part of her neck. Then use the lasso or marque to go around the area you want to move, press ctrl + J (PC) to make a new layer from that selection.

Then Ctrl and Click to move the head up to where you think looks nice. You will see the bottom half of her neck is now misplaced.