RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Patch tool not working the right way?

Old 12-09-2009, 09:41 AM

Patch tool not working the right way?

im new to photoshop and have been playing around with the patch tool and for some reason its not working the way it does in the tutorials i have watched... while trying to remove a black dog from a pictures i select the dog as the source and drag to a clean area and after it patches it there is now a black cloud over what should now be the clean area? likewise when i try and duplicate the dog to another area after the patching is done the dog is now transparent instead of solid... i have checked the fade patch selecection at it is set at 100% and i have reset the prefrences and am still having the same issue? can someone tell me what im doing wrong?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-09-2009, 02:49 PM
Patron

Re: Patch tool not working the right way?

What you are experiencing is actually correct for the Patch tool. Unliker the clone / stamp tool, the Patch tool uses a complex algorithm attempting to matche the texture, lighting, transparency, and shading of the sampled pixels to the pixels being healed. The toll is designed to work well with small areas at a time. When the patch is large and when it is used on complex areas set on complex backgrounds, it very often produces the results that you have found (in either source or destination modes).
So when the healing tools do not work, you should try the clone tools OR the old fashion method of making a loose feathered selection around your dog, move the selection over the area you wish to replace it with, Ctrl J to copy the area to a new layer, and move / drag the new area over the dog. Add a layer mask to that layer and with a soft brush paint around the edges to blend you patch in to its new surroundings.