RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Dodging and Burning Help plus critique

Old 12-12-2009, 11:10 AM

Dodging and Burning Help plus critique

First Post. I am a newbie working hard to develop my retouching skills and have been spending a lot of time reading the great post on the site. One of the areas that I still do not have a good handle on is dodging and burning. I understand how to technically do it but not exactly sure when and where to apply it. As I look through everyones work this seems to be the difference between good work and great work. Maybe this is what separates the artists from the rest of the world but I would appreciate any pointers that you may have. I have also include a pic that I would appreciate any critique that you may have. My 17 year old baby face son wanted me to take "Fashion Shot" but wanted to look a bit more grown up. I have included the before and after shot for your reference. Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Final Retouch.jpg (72.7 KB, 160 views)
File Type: jpg Baby Face Starting Image.jpg (69.0 KB, 156 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-12-2009, 06:51 PM

Re: Dodging and Burning Help plus critique

You did a good job retouching the image.
D&B technique can be used in different ways; when it comes to faces and skin, D&B is used to even out skin tones and minimize pores and small skin imperfections. It can also be used to contour noses and cheeks, etc.
On a larger scale, it can be used to downplay or highlight certain areas of the picture.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-12-2009, 10:08 PM

I really like what you've done with the values (light and dark) of his face and body. You almost gave him a slight tan. Was this all dodge and burn? It almost has the look of HDR/tonemap emulating software like Topaz adjust or Lucis.