RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How is this color effect done?

Old 12-26-2009, 06:27 PM

How is this color effect done?

I am totally in love with this look

http://fashiongonerogue.com/2009/12/...us/#more-17165

I have been trying to figure it out. I am pretty new to photoshop so I would like some help.

I think color solarization is part of it but if anyone could give me some guidance I would be grateful

Best,
Alex

alexmacpherson.com
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-26-2009, 06:43 PM

Re: How is this color effect done?

The reds and greens are clipped in the black parts, but the blues are reduced.
To achieve this, you have to create a new Levels adjustment layer, click on Red-channel and take the black triangle to the beginning of the big mountain (the beginning of the histogram). Do the same for the Green-channel.
Now move on to the Blue-channel and reduce the output of the blacks using the output sliders and rise it until your satisfied with the results.

Furthermore there are no real whites so either start with an underexposed image or use the white output slider on the composite (RGB) to reduce the whites.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-26-2009, 07:45 PM

So with the blue channel do you move the black triangle? Or is it just the output slider?

Do you think there is any masking on the skin. I am having trouble making it look right.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-26-2009, 08:09 PM
Patron

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexMac View Post
I am totally in love with this look

http://fashiongonerogue.com/2009/12/...us/#more-17165

I have been trying to figure it out. I am pretty new to photoshop so I would like some help.

I think color solarization is part of it but if anyone could give me some guidance I would be grateful

Best,
Alex

alexmacpherson.com