RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Removing a Facial Shadow

Old 01-09-2010, 11:50 PM

Removing a Facial Shadow

Hey,

I usually work with film. But my friend needed head shots, so I went ahead and did them digitally. She was late so we couldn't work inside cause my windows are south east facing and the sun was on the other side of the house. So we braved the cold and went outside. Between rushing and the sunset i was left with some very inconvenient shadows on her face.

Do you have a step by step method to get rid of them? I am a totally noob to photoshop.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 17860_1148377193225_1341420429_30662001_7865250_n.jpg (31.7 KB, 65 views)

Last edited by kaishantelle; 01-10-2010 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-10-2010, 08:14 AM

Re: Removing a Facial Shadow

Basiclly what you want to do is modify the value of some pixels as you leave the other intact. The actual opening of the shadows can be approached in many ways, but the selecting of the values that you need to lighten is what you need to consider here.

There is an adjustment in photoshop that does well in lighting darkening parts of the photo based on it's original luminosiy value. That is the "shadows & highlights" adjusment. It provides control over shadows as well as over highlights. Amount of lighting, and range covered by each slider. That is the first metod you can try to use, and here's an example: