RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

You guys who post a ton, hep me out with something

Old 03-04-2010, 11:03 AM

You guys who post a ton, hep me out with something

Alright, this is not a dig as I really want your insight into this... It seems that in 90% of threads I read on here, the mentality is that an image needs 6 hours of D&B to be good.

I am a commercial photographer in a mid sized market doing primarily local and regional work with an occasional small national job (nothing cool). I have a couple of retouchers I send work off to when I am unable to do the work in house and when the job can afford it. Their day rates range from around $800 to $1200 and they will usually spend the majority of a day on a single image.

Now then, my shoots average between $2500 and $5000 (excluding talent) for the most part these days, and believe me, clients are asking me to find every possible way to cut out as much cost as possible in this economy. Seeing as I am generally delivering 4 or more images from these type shoots, post processing alone can easily double my invoice if I allow. My questions:

Are you guys who stand behind the "D&B or nothing" view of retouching just so blessed as to have $30,000 budgets for every job that comes your way? Do you have a middle ground (i.e. quick and dirty approach) that you use for the jobs that this level of work is simply not in the budget?