Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Wacom tablet settings for retouching and painting?

Old 03-12-2010, 04:37 PM
Wacom tablet settings for retouching and painting?

I have a wacom intuitos 4. I really like it, but have always had trouble getting it to paint smoothly so that individual brush strokes don't show. Because of this problem, I tend to use it with the pressure sensitivity turned off in both shape dynamics and other dynamics or else apply a slight gaussian blur to smooth out brushstrokes. I feel that turning off the sensitivity somehow defeats the whole point of a tablet by making it behave like a very precise mouse.

My background is as a classically trained realistic oil painter and I would like to use the tablet for creating realistic paintings in photoshop from scratch. As a retoucher, I often have to work on defective product shots that require extensive painting to make the image look good. I am wondering what settings people think would be good for painting with my wacom?

I am also wondering what settings people like to use with their tablet and in the brushes palette for dodging and burning skin pores and for general retouching? Thanks a lot for your help.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-12-2010, 09:14 PM
Re: Wacom tablet settings for retouching and paint

1. In Preferences>Cursors choose either the Normal Brush Tip or the Full Size Brush Tip

2. Make sure you're using the softest setting for your brush. With the brush tool chosen, right click and set the softness to 0%. You can also set this by repeatedly pressing Shift + [ until it becomes no softer.