RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Newbie here need some help!

Old 03-29-2010, 03:23 PM

Question Newbie here need some help!

Hi folks! My name is Pedro and i'm from Brazil. I read about this website today and i'm just starting to see how much things we have about retouch and repair images. It's a pleasure to be here with you.
Well, since i just got here, i don't expect much answers quickly, but i really need some help with an image.
Maybe i'm wrong but there are a lot of different techniques to fix an old image, right? I tried one here from what i saw at the forum, but i couldn't get good results.
I want to know if someone can point me what technique i should use in this photo and give me other tips. I need this a little fast, because it's for a friend, and i'm months late!
The image is this one (reduced). The size of the original file is 11807x9341 pixels and 21,0 MB.

So..what do i need to know and try?

Cheers,
Pedro P.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScannedImage mais reduzida.jpg (88.6 KB, 167 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-29-2010, 04:01 PM

Re: Newbie here need some help!

Hi Pedro, and welcome!

You're right, there are a lot of different techniques to fix an old image.

I guess the original is a raw file. If it is, someone will come along and explain adjustments you can make. I have a free raw converter but I can only make a few adjustments. I just found it a couple of weeks ago and haven't played with it much.

Anyway, I would start by adjusting the levels.

The image is too small for me to see small details, but try cloning and/or healing on the scratches.

I'm sure someone will be here to explain how to adjust the raw file. Are you using Photoshop?
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-29-2010, 04:20 PM