RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

new to this retouching lark...

Old 07-01-2010, 04:42 AM

Question new to this retouching lark...

hi guys,

i am new to this site and i need a little advice. i am a self taught photographic retoucher and i suppose you would say i am entry level. i have recently moved back from south africa to start my MA is documentary photography. i am currently looking for ways to earn a bit of cash on the side and figured retouching could be the way to go.... but where do i go from here?

any idea's?

elizabeth
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-01-2010, 02:30 PM

Re: new to this retouching lark...

Don't count on being able to buy business cards, proclaim yourself to be in business, and instantly begin collecting fees for your photo touching services. It just doesn't work that way. If you are only looking for a quick and easy way to make money, this isn't it.

I would suggest you continue to hone your skills, network with other like-minded people, and build up your portfolio as you go. Once you are closer to finishing your studies you can begin thinking more about how to turn your interests in documentary photography into a career. By that time, you may be more interested in producing your own work than retouching the work of others.

Todd
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-01-2010, 02:47 PM

I personally found it harder to make money doing photo restoration after the economy went in the dumpster a couple years ago. More people are less inclined to give up their money, which makes it harder to earn income from doing this service. I suspect others found this out too.