RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Advertise Here

Help with eyelashes on glitz photos

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2010, 10:45 AM

Help with eyelashes on glitz photos

I've been editing photos for a few years now and I've gotten a lot better at editing pictures. My work decided to buy photoshop for our engineers and they loaded it on my computer so I started playing around with it and eventually got addicted to it. So i loaded it on my home computer and have been working with it ever since.
My question is how do you add eyelashed to a photo? I've looked on the threads and I haven't found anything that shows a tutorial on how to apply this to a picture. Can someone show me where I can find a tutorial on this?
I've looked on Google but haven't found any tutorials only people wanting me to buy their services.

Here a picture I'm doing of my daughter right now
Before: http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i1...3/DSC07331.jpg
After: http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i1...cy3/Lexi-1.jpg

I don't mind critics, I can always use them.
-Tiffany
Old 07-18-2010, 11:18 AM

Re: Help with eyelashes on glitz photos

Most of the time eyelashes don't have enough resolution to actually see their shape—no highlights or shadows—so they can be drawn in with a single stroke. Just match color and opacity (in your case, none of them were actually 100% of their color) and fade off at the tip. For extremely high-resolution, you might want to fade off the brush radius as well, if you are using a pen.

I also shifted the catchlights away from their bullseye position, added a slight shadow at the base of the lashes, whitened the whites and added more detail to the irises in overlay mode.

You wouldn't want them to look made-up in a shot like this, but you do want them to demand more attention.