RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

remove shadowing

Old 10-25-2010, 10:22 AM

remove shadowing

Hello all,

I have this image which I have cropped and hacked a bit to remove unwanted people in the background. I am now trying to remove the shadowing that runs diagonally across this image. I have read numerous threads about overlay layers, curves but I am relatively new to this. I have CS5 (well it's on my brothers computer who is away overseas) and I am struggling big time.

Any ideas - and step by step instructions please.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (78.5 KB, 67 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2010, 11:53 AM

Re: remove shadowing

Create a curve's layer and bring up the brightness and then create a layer mask. CMD+I or CRTL+I to invert the layer and then type B to bring up your brush. Set it to default white at a low flow/opacity and start coloring over the shadows. Make sure you're coloring over the masked layer.

You can also try making a new layer, setting it to soft light and then color with white set to a very low flow/opacity and color over the shadows.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-25-2010, 12:18 PM

Hi