RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How to get experience in this business

Old 10-26-2010, 10:57 PM

How to get experience in this business

Hi everyone, this is my first post. Glad to be here.

This question probably gets pushed around a lot, so I apologize if it's a dull one. I'm a documentary/editorial photographer living in New York, and for a while now I have wanted to get into professional photo retouching. Primarily because I think I'd be good at it, and I really enjoy the little bits I get to do. I do an unusual amount of retouching on my own images for someone who doesn't shoot fashion or "commercial" photos, and I sometimes do freelance work for other documentary photographers doing color work and printing. But I do not have the right portfolio or the level of experience required to approach retouching studios about working for them in any kind of capacity.

So I'm wondering, does anyone have any advice on how I could go about effectively approaching this business? I need experience but I have approached retouchers and photographers that I know about that very subject and have gotten nowhere. Is there such a thing as a retouching internship? Because I would love to do it if given the chance. The problem is, I really need the right images to work on, and someone who can tell what I'm doing right and doing wrong, but finding that guidance has so far alluded me.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-27-2010, 09:55 AM

Re: How to get experience in this business

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrory View Post
But I do not have the right portfolio or the level of experience required to approach retouching studios about working for them in any kind of capacity.