RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

RetouchPRO really pisses me off sometimes.

Old 11-16-2010, 12:22 PM

RetouchPRO really pisses me off sometimes.

I started learning about retouching a few months ago, and RetouchPRO was one of the first websites I came to.

"Wow, a forum devoted to retouching and calling themselves 'Pro'? This must be the way I'm looking for!"

It was only until a month ago that I learned 90% of the things I learned from RP was WRONG (thank you, ModelMayhem retouching forum). Yes, I know for a fact that there are many skilled and professional retouchers on this website. But the various tutorials and topics created by amateurs who use terrible techniques can mislead those who don't know the D&B technique, or frequency separation, or what high-end retouching really looks like.

I don't know how this mess of amateur work would be cleaned up, but it seriously lowers the integrity of a website that calls it self "RetouchPro." Not only that, it also propagates the usage of such techniques.

Readers, please don't take this personally at all. I'm just expressing what I have experienced, and I'm sure many others have felt the same way I have. I realize MM doesn't run into the same problem because posting privileges are a bit more restricted there, but there are moderators here for a reason....
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-16-2010, 12:56 PM

Re: RetouchPRO really pisses me off sometimes.

Dude, you are getting free information over the internet. You always have to take such information with a grain of salt and be your own moderator. If you want truely professonal advice, shell out the $ for some professional courses.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-16-2010, 01:01 PM
Patron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbobo View Post