RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Impossible skin

Old 12-29-2010, 10:25 AM

Impossible skin

Hi,

This has probably been asked or discussed on this forum before. What do you do? You have an impossible image, really bad skin, almost no spot to source for healing or cloning. 1. How many of you have have a supply of facial textures that you've saved from previous retouches and are you able to use them successfully over the 'impossible image'. Just generally is saving facial textures a common practice? How do you go about it. As a beginner I would like to know.

Thanks
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-29-2010, 11:32 AM

Re: Impossible skin

Can you post a portion of the image?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-29-2010, 11:39 AM

I don't have a sample image as yet; I am just anticipating this happening at some point. I have seen some images that retouches have done amazing things to even when it seemed there was not a spot on the skin that was unaffected either by acne or a ton of wrinkles. I would have just thrown my hands in the air and said this one is not doable. So besides gaussian blur and all that bad stuff how to fix such a problem. Save a load of skin textures to source from? I guess that is my question. And how many actually practice this?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-29-2010, 12:03 PM

In most cases there'll be a tiny amount of good skin that you can work with (although it's pretty likely that you'll end up with repeating patterns).
Dodge & burn might also work, depending on how damaged the skin is.

When worse comes to worse you probably can get decent results with frequency separation and replacing the high frequency data completely (technique can be found here: http://www.modelmayhem.com/po.php?th...=1#post9585669).
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-29-2010, 12:15 PM