RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Where do I start.....

Old 12-31-2010, 12:15 PM

Where do I start.....

Hi there.

I joined RetouchPro a couple of weeks ago, and have found the amount of available information almost overwhelming.

A bit about me - I am a photographer, but really want to learn how to retouch PROPERLY. I can clone, sharpen, and use other basic Lightroom/Photoshop processes but I have generally picked these skills up from other forums. I have bought the Calvenize videos, and am waiting for Natalia's dvds to be delivered, and I have attended the recent online session on sharpening with Andrew Rodney.

But I wonder if anyone (especially those who are self-taught) can tell me how they managed their learning? At the moment I feel that I am grabbing at what looks good to me but with little knowledge of what it is I am aiming for.

Thanks.

Delene
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-31-2010, 09:43 PM

Re: Where do I start.....

Hi delene: Welcome to RP... Dodge and Burn is the way to go. You already got the cloning thing going on. It takes a while to learn and apply D&B technique, "practice and patience" are the key words. But split frequencies, and sharpen in my opinion takes an important part in the process. Everyone has its own way of retouching, and there are no shortcuts in this technique, but there's a plug-in that if you learn (not to difficult) how to use it well it can help you cutting time on your works, being that D&B is very time consuming (still the best technique tho...) The plug in name is Smooth Skin, you can find it here: http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/pho...smoothing.html

Note: "Maybe I wrote too soon, but I understand that you are talking about "beauty retouching" since you mention Calvenize videos and Natalia's DVDs."

Hope this helps !