RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Newb: out of gamut colors and color shift

Old 01-15-2011, 12:19 AM

Newb: out of gamut colors and color shift

I recently did a shoot that had quite saturated colors in it. I am preparing the final files for srgb jpg print files.

Because of the color saturation in several of the images, I checked the gamut warning and have seen that there are some problem spots.

I am pretty new to using this feature of PS so I have some questions.

1. When you get a gamut warning in a dark spot of the image... does it just mean it will print as pure black?

2. Does a gamut warning in a saturated color mean it shift color when it prints?

The reason I ask is that I did a soft proof on an unmodified jpg and noticed the lips went from a fuschia color to burgundy.

Is there a way to prevent the color shift and keep nice saturation?

Last edited by 5nap5hot; 01-15-2011 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-15-2011, 03:16 AM

Re: Newb: out of gamut colors and color shift

Open up the file in PS. Go to Mode and switch to CMYK. Toggle between the RGB and CMYK image and you will see instantly where the "illegal" colours are. Normally vibrant colours will appear dirty (eg the yellow/white glow around a lamp). Bright blues will become dull or too red. CMYK is an ink process and does not have a brightness control. How do you make bright blue from cyan and magenta? Try retouching the problem areas after converting the file to CMYK or, make a copy, retouch in CMYK, convert to RGB and patch these areas in to your RGB file. If you aren't comfortable in CMYK, you should speak to the printer because a lot depends on his set up. Speak to him anyway.
R.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-15-2011, 03:07 PM