RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Skin blemish repair - where to start?

Old 02-03-2011, 09:44 PM

Skin blemish repair - where to start?

I'm reading post after post here and model mayhem and some blogs that get linked and google searches to find more info on some of the terms and technique.

I'm honestly overwhelmed and in a bit over my head. I'm not new to photoshop but I'm no expert retoucher. I want to learn some the most effective techniques to treat skin. I'm mainly interested in natural looking results (versus ultra smooth glamor skin). I want to be able to do other treatments as well but my current need is for more traditional portraits. You know, soften wrinkles, even skin color, remove blemishes, maybe add some makeup or make the list slightly richer. Lot's of light touches that add up to a nice, natural photo.

I know it takes time and lots of practice. Where I'm stuck is where to start and what techniques I should be concentrating on. There so much information but I don't really have enough familiarity with the terms or the techniques to judge which are the best for my purpose.

Anyone have a map I could borrow to get through this maze of information?

EDIT: I guess I should be a little more specific. I'm talking about effective intermediate and advanced techniques. Not "use the healing brush and a 20% blur" kinda stuff.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-04-2011, 12:43 AM

Re: Skin blemish repair - where to start?

Hi there,
Blemishes, any kind of small imperfections etc., You may remove simply using patch tool, (create new layer first!).
Then using very low opacity dodge and burn significant shadows (under eyes, nose, jaw - wherever necessary)