RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

What is your favorite D&B strategy?

Old 02-09-2011, 04:18 PM

What is your favorite D&B strategy?

When I do my dodge and burn I like to have a separate layer filled with 50% medium grey then set my brush tool to either multiply or screen.

Im curious as to how other retouchers achieve their D&B effect. =D
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-09-2011, 07:03 PM

Re: What is your favorite D&B strategy?

I'm not an expert and I'm just learning to use D&B effectively. But here's what I do: I create a 50% gray layer and set it to soft light. Then I paint with black and white with a very soft brush at a low opacity usually 3-5%. If I'm painting large areas of highlight or shadow, I may go as high as 10% opacity.

It's not fancy but it works and I have excellent control. The only downside, IMO, over the standard dodge and burn tools is that I don't have a simple way to limit the effect to highlight, mid or shadow tones. Sometimes I want to burn the highlights mixed in with shadow or mid tone to even the area out before reforming the shadows. For now, I have to even up those areas up pixel-by-pixel.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-09-2011, 07:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by drode View Post
I'm not an expert and I'm just learning to use D&B effectively. But here's what I do: I create a 50% gray layer and set it to soft light. Then I paint with black and white with a very soft brush at a low opacity usually 3-5%. If I'm painting large areas of highlight or shadow, I may go as high as 10% opacity.