RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

need some assistance, where to start...

Old 03-27-2011, 07:08 PM

need some assistance, where to start...

Hello,

Thank you for reading my post.

The photo below is in need of some color correction and eliminating of the shadows and haze. I noticed a very harsh shadow on the right when I was attempting to correct and color balance it. The background will be replaced. Any guidance would be great.

Thank you for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cake.jpg (31.1 KB, 78 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2011, 01:22 AM

Re: need some assistance, where to start...

I'm a bit of a novice, but on such a small jpg I was able to do handwork in 5 minutes.

eraser tool hard brush 19
selection
refine edges
dodge edges with large brush to remove haze
I'll leave the color corrections to you

JPG
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/9244/cakeff.jpg

PNG
http://img864.imageshack.us/img864/9012/cake.png

PSD
http://www.mediafire.com/?xdeau2d8xysdys2
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2011, 03:53 AM

hello
i strongly recommend to use pen tool in this case to take the cake 'out from the background'. make a copy of your layer and put blend soft light. then make a new layer with 50% gray, linear light and dodge the dark parts of the cake... do the colors stronger on original layer in selective color- add some magenta in red color, cyan in cyan... play a little bit :-))

i'm not so good at explaining so look at the photo and feel free to ask if you don't understand anything :-)))
http://www.mediafire.com/?2su6g0pyzrptmz9