RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Becoming a retouching god? How?

Old 05-22-2011, 11:23 AM

Question Becoming a retouching god? How?

Hello.
I'm a student in Photography wanting to work in Fashion and Beauty photography one day and I have noticed that many photographers aren't great at PP or retouching. I don't want to be that guy, I want to be able to do everything by myself.

The problem is I have been using Lightroom 3 most of the time since I started and only recently bough Photoshop CS5 as well. I experimented a little with a Dragan Effect, I did a bit of 'surgery' by replacing a left eye with a right eye because it didn't look right but other than that I don't know much. Books aren't very helpful to me because I just don't get it unless you show everything to me. Some tutorials by Sean Armenta have been really helpful!

Here is some retouching I did recently, I'd love some input, since I don't know much I know that I probably suck and my edit is awful, anyway:

- Original Image:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5022/...001160cb_b.jpg

- Edited Image:

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2069/...5708e812_b.jpg

How bad is it doctor?

What are some good (free) video resources and tutorials to improve and learn new techniques? Thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2011, 12:13 PM

Re: Becoming a retouching god? How?

hey patient ! you need a surgery ..... - now
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2011, 12:51 PM

I do have a printed copy of french Photo magazine with Adrzej Dragan's portfolio (full page images) and I wouldn't say that all images were adjusted with Photoshop. Some of them look like hand colored.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2011, 01:45 PM
Patron