RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

A New Way to Remove Moire

Old 05-28-2011, 11:17 AM

A New Way to Remove Moire

I am new to RP and was encouraged by another RP member to go ahead and put up a post here about a new technique I recently developed to remove not just the color component of Camera Sensor based Moire patterns (well known techniques) yet also the luminosity component of these Moire patterns (typically the more difficult part to do). The beauty of the approach is that it is simple to implement and I found that it worked well on 19 of 20 images I tried. All it took for many images was the addition of a single Hue/Sat adjustment Layer and adjusting the Hue and Sat sliders. I have posted the details on my blog as well as a screencast demonstrating the technique at

A New Way to Remove Morie

Some images require using multiple Masked Hue/Sat Adjustment Layers to optimize the results if the optimum adjustment point varies across an image with such Moire patterns.

Feedback/suggestions appreciated. Thanks in advance. Hope this is helpful.
John Wheeler

Last edited by John Wheeler; 05-29-2011 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-28-2011, 02:03 PM

Re: A New Way to Remove Moire

Hi John,

I like your technique, pretty clever idea :-)!

However I wonder if you really need the white layer in between, because it's "overwritten" by the color layer above anyways.
I see its uses as a preview, but personally I like the color preview better.
Maybe you could just mention that you don't really need the white layer for anything but previewing, so that the watchers aren't "forced" to use it if they don't need it?

Otherwise great technique!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-28-2011, 02:22 PM

Thanks for the feedback Jonas.