RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Retouching white plastic sandals

Old 08-01-2011, 08:48 AM

Retouching white plastic sandals

Hey guys

I'm new to serious photo retouching having worked primarily as a journalistic photographer I've never had to do more than the basics.

I'm playing around now and trying to learn more refined techniques.

Here I;ve got a photo I shot of a white plastic sandal on a black background.
I had two 1000W minipans and used a reflector for some fill.
Obviously the lighting gave a nasty yellow cast but I pulled the colour temp down to about 2800 in the raw file before I saved the JPEG you see here.

I would use the quick selection tool to pull it from the black background, and add a white light wrap to get rid of the black cast but then the curves and layers just don't give me the color correction I need. The colours remain terribly flat and I can't get rid of the colour cast.

How would you pros go about retouching this?
Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

You can find the TIF here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5623968/24June-102.TIF
Attached Images
File Type: jpg white_test.jpg (85.7 KB, 73 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2011, 09:12 AM

Re: Retouching white plastic sandals

You mean something like this??

Cut it out with the pen tool, then just use a curve (see the screenshot). Use Hue sat to desturate the yellow. Then I added a quick selection to the pink(ish) details (from the green channel).

Good luck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen-shot-2011-08-01-at-4.10.03-PM.jpg (90.2 KB, 70 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2011, 09:33 AM