RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

The Truth About High End Retouching...

Old 08-15-2011, 04:00 PM

The Truth About High End Retouching...

So, I'm a student currently going into my senior year of college, and I've come to the conclusion that the work I'm best cut out for is retouching. I've spent a lot of time on various forums as well as researching the "competition" and various high profile retouchers, and I notice that so many people don't realize the truth about high end retouching....that it takes time.

I see so many people who claim to be "professionals" claiming they're so good and fast and all this nonsense, and when I view their work it's obvious they're not practicing the correct techniques. Blur filters and other actions and filters are often applied trying to speed up the underestimated time it takes to beautifully retouch an image. The mix of "retouched" and "natural" takes so much patience and finesse, and I'm just wondering if retouchers, like society in general, are increasingly just looking for cheap work arounds instead of putting out quality. I'm not even a professional yet and I know the importance of all of this, and I'm just curious as to who else out there are proponents for working many hours and working almost pixel by pixel on an image and who are those who can prove to me a photo really can be retouched to near perfection in 1-2 hours.

I'd just like to read the debate is all...thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-15-2011, 04:17 PM

Re: The Truth About High End Retouching...

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetsurndr View Post
I'm just curious as to who else out there are proponents for working many hours and working almost pixel by pixel on an image and who are those who can prove to me a photo really can be retouched to near perfection in 1-2 hours.