RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Gargoyle Pic - Recommend Retouches!

Old 08-27-2011, 04:32 PM

Gargoyle Pic - Recommend Retouches!

Hi,

I'm new to DSLR... and even more new to photo retouching. I have Photoshop CS and Lightroom 3.

Here are the photos I took:

Gargoyle

Gargoyle 2

What do you suggest doing to make them look better?
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-28-2011, 09:28 PM

Re: Gargoyle Pic - Recommend Retouches!

Both shots appear to be slightly out of focus on the subject. The first shot you can tell that the focal area is actually on some of the greenery in front of the gargoyle. The second shot the focal area is on the knee of the gargoyle. If you are a beginner, you might try shooting in aperture priority mode, using a higher aperture and then using your manual focus to focus on the subject. These photos feel as if you could be shooting fully auto. The composition could be improved as well, so you may way to take a photography class or even an art class to learn about how to look at life to create more interesting compositions. Again, I am not a photographer, so someone else can offer you better advice with your technical skills. I think the book "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson is a good starting point for someone trying to use their SLR camera (which includes me!)

If you are trying to improve the lack of focus, you have a few options: The easiest for you is the probably the sharpen function of Lightroom, and you can also use the 'clarity' function to give the image a bit more definition. I'm not sure exactly what this slider is but it seems to be some kind of sharpening at a high radius. You also have the sharpen functions, unsharp mask, or high pass methods in photoshop. This might be some things to try. Google and learn...