RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How did you learn how to become a retoucher?

Old 09-20-2011, 04:38 PM

Question How did you learn how to become a retoucher?

I was wondering how you all did it, I see incredible things on here. Did you read books about Photoshop or retouching? Did you go to workshops? Did you go through a course?

I wish I could learn so much more but I don't know where to turn. I'm a photography student and while some things are taught I wonder how I can be one step ahead of everyone else?

How does one become a Retouching God?

Reply With Quote top
Old 09-20-2011, 08:41 PM

Re: How did you learn how to become a retoucher?

Hi YR: Practice, practice practice and more practice... I'm not a master at it yet, but i'd say: reading, asking and watching are 3 important things in the learning path... Some people learn doing just this (as in my case) some prefer to go right ahead and study, (i mean Art school) or buy some books, and/or DVDs. This forum is a great place to hang out, and learn... What's your target? Beauty retouch, fashion, landscape, HDR etc ?

If you are interested in beauty and fashion retouch, there's only one way to do it right, and that is "hard work". Learn the Dodge and Burn technique (a tablet is a must for this one). Here in RP, you can find some Pro Retouchers that are nice people, you can ask them when in doubt... Search youtube videos of interest, depends on what you want to do... There are tons of tutorial on the net that can help... If you see something that catch your eye and you want to do it, you can start by uploading a sample, and ask how it's done or at least how to do something similar, then try to create something of your own.