RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Help me achieve those tones

Old 11-08-2011, 02:35 PM

Smile Help me achieve those tones

Hi guys, please help me turn this image

http://www.prophotonut.com/wp-conten...9/08/1-4_3.jpg

into

http://www.prophotonut.com/wp-conten...9/08/1-4_2.jpg

If you have a look in
http://www.prophotonut.com/2009/08/1...nd-techniques/

you will see that those pictures are taken with different exposure setting & slightly different angle.

I couldn't replicate the tone of the 2nd image.
I notice that it has a lot of highlight & some creamy, pinky colors blended into each other. I extracted dominant colors with color palette tool, and tried several blend ways with no success. I'm not very good with color, so my analysis could be wrong.

Another similar tone I would like to know
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lamour0...l-1347049@N23/

Any help would be really appreciated
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2011, 10:48 AM

Re: Help me achive those tones

I'd go for a reverse vignetting, some color fill in screen mode, and the shadow/highlight command, each to modulate with a mask. You can tell the contrast has been switched locally in several areas.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2011, 11:04 AM
Patron

Are you Damien Lovegrove by any chance? If not why are you posting his copyrighted images and asking for help in turning one that was shot for dramatic effect to one that was shot for a softer look? - the guy offers training courses based in the UK if you are interested.

If you are looking to achieve these effects in your own images then please post one of your originals and quote the look you are after and I am sure you will be offered plenty of help and advice
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-09-2011, 05:34 PM

Um, looking at the blog, he kind of spells it out: different exposure+ diffuse glow.