RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Is this believable? (Attempt to make a photo old)

Old 12-06-2011, 01:26 AM

Is this believable? (Attempt to make a photo old)

I've tried a few things but I think I like this version the best. This is my first attempt. Any tips out be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Old1.jpg (77.1 KB, 142 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 07:30 AM

Re: Is this believable? (Attempt to make a photo o

Hi Oscar,

It does look a bit "composited" to me... Not sure why though - Maybe the girl's a bit too sharp?

Still pretty good though
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 10:43 AM

I agree that she is too sharp.

Also old photos have physical damage, yours is too smooth and looks new. Take the print out and beat on it with a board or something, rip up a corner and stain a spot or two. Then it will look older.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-06-2011, 11:59 AM

Hi ItsOscar

First that is a very cute shot. Love it.

I agree with Mike about the lack of physical damage (I had to stop laughing first though )

I do restoration of images from 1840 through the 1920s range. Though there are fewer images of the highest quality, there are many that are as sharp as your image. Nice job on the color/toning. So here are some differences that I see from your image to ones much older

- As Mike mentioned physical damage
- Not too many images have as deep a tone/color for sepia though yours gives a good feel