RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Smudging when using Frequency Separation

Old 12-18-2011, 04:36 AM

Smudging when using Frequency Separation

I am still very new to retouching but have found Frequency Separation for use when retouching to be extremely useful. I still have a problem that I do not know how to overcome. I am still getting smudging when cloning with a hard edge brush on the High layer. An example would be when trying to remove black flyaway hairs against skin at the point where the flyaway hair meets the main body of the hair. This is obviously an area of high contrast and even with the clone tool set to hard it is still smudging a bit. I suspect this is something to do with the fact that there is still a small amount of colour on the High layer.
Can anyone tell me if there is a way around this or how best to handle it.

Colin
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-18-2011, 05:05 AM

Re: Smudging when using Frequency Separation

Hi Colin

To remove color from high pass. Image, ajustmeant, hue/saturation and put saturation all the way down to -100

Shane
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-18-2011, 06:06 AM

Please don't desaturate your image after the split! You might want to keep all the color information on the lowpass (search for asymmetric frequency separation in that case), but I rather suspect that the smudging comes from you working near hard edges. Try using a different filter that largely respects edges to create your lowpass and see how that works. Median or Surface Blur might work for this.
Also when healing near edges, always sample the edge itself and work along it, that way it won't blur that much.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-18-2011, 07:20 PM
Patron

Quote:
Originally Posted by CKAJCA View Post