RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How do they achieve this look and color?

Old 12-19-2011, 11:46 AM

How do they achieve this look and color?

Hi all,

I am a newbie, and would like to ask all pros here what are the possible ways they might have used in Photoshop for achieving the following look.

Here

and

Here

I am particularly interested in learning how the orange light leak effects on the left side of the frame can be achieved.

Thank you.

Michael
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2011, 12:29 PM

Re: How do they achieve this look and color?

It might not be the answer you want to hear, but you could do that by clicking two buttons in RadLab.

To get orange like that on the left, you could just use a soft air brush with the paint mode set to Color.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2011, 01:23 PM

Ah! UK Vogue.

The traditional way is E6 (slide) film processed in C41 chemicals and a natural light leak in the camera. It can be emulated in digital but it has been done so many times I have to ask ; why?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2011, 01:44 PM

Rooter, thank you for the pointer and the blend mode trick. Is there anyway to do that in PS without using any plug-ins at all? Thanks.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2011, 02:00 PM

Yep. I bet it's bare PS, no steroids.

As for the shots itself: Mert & Marcus, these two can tint to the limits.

Google Giorgio Armani FW 2010 or Cindy Crawford TSUM campaign, the closest examples I can think of. You'll see the visual relationship.