Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Question about level masks

Old 12-24-2011, 08:07 AM
Question about level masks

Good morning to all and happy christmas to everyone!
I'm a totally newbie in retouching and i'm trying to do some test for a friend of mine.
I've found a site ( that is nothing (retouching) special but offers some psd for viewing his work. i've downloaded one and i don't understand a thing. if you open the file that i had uploaded you will find, bottom right, a circle highlighting my question.
in the "dodge" folder there is some level mask, they are composed by a white level plus a black one.
someone knows why did he choose this type of level? and what is it for?
Thanks for the help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Level Mask_.jpg (73.9 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-24-2011, 09:18 AM
Re: Question about level masks

Hi France and Happy Holidays

There are many many ways in Photoshop to get the same job done. I believe there are easier ways to get the job done than the approach this Artist took in his PSD file yet each Artist has their own workflow.

Before talking about the two Layers in the Dodge folder here are a couple basics.

The thumbnail on the left is that Layers Pixels to be applied.
When you highlight a given level and look at the top of the Layers panel, on the upper left is a dropdown box. The name in that shows in this box is the "Blend Mode" that is being applied to the Layer Pixels.