RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

How did I do it?

Old 02-28-2012, 07:54 AM

How did I do it?

Few days ago I was trying to get more out of this photo. I liked the composition and thought I could improve it by some PS post processing. I applied and tried all kind of things (filters, masks, sharpening, ...) and finally obtained this result.
I liked the final picture but after a closer look I saw the halos around the wood branches. I tried to obtain the same picture without the halos but got only disappointing results. Unfortunately I didn't make notes on how I processed the original image and the processing was done in a destructive way. As I'm not a PS expert and as there was little logic behind the processing I applied to the original image, I cannot get back the result I liked.
Any (expert) advice on how to get back the processed image, using the original as input, is most welcome. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by drouber; 02-28-2012 at 11:00 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-28-2012, 10:17 AM

Re: How did I do it?

I can see the haloes in the original photo, so any further manipulation in photoshop will only enhance them. The halo effect probably happened in your initial processing. Too much HDR perhaps?
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-28-2012, 10:25 AM

If you set the usm or high pass parameters too high you will get a halo. You may have to do some masking and apply the sharpening selectively.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-28-2012, 11:05 AM

Thank you for your suggestions.
I replaced the input image with an "halo-free" version. Please note I would also like some suggestions on how to reproduce the look of the output image (coloring, filtering, ...). So, it's not only an halo problem.
TIA.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-01-2012, 10:00 PM

bottom: original

- multiply by itself